Interpretation

To block out the mocking sun

Recently I started psychedelic therapy, which I prefer to do blindfolded. And the other day I was stressed out and asked Sophie for help, and she suggested putting the blindfold on.

I did, and … !

Since I’ve started psychedelics I’ve been particularly sensitive to light, specifically sunlight, and I’m starting to think it’s much more of a stressor than I’ve previously realized. Blind, distractions are reduced by a thousandfold. Nothing is as distracting as sight, so nothing is as focusing as blocking it out. I’m an excellent typist, so I can write even without being able to see the screen.

via .

Darkness is absolutely a reading of “void,” so here is my first Void Essence object. You might say, in fact, that darkness is The Void Essence.

I’ve been using The Mindfold, which is a hilariously branded proprietary blindfold which nevertheless works excellently well. It’s very comfortable and you can open your eyes behind it without seeing any light. I do recommend it.

You never know when you might realize you hate the sun.